Icon Versand Orders above €40 are delivered free of charge in Germany Icon VersandAny queries on your order? Tel: +49 40 311 823 89 – 0 Go to checkout Your account en
de

Our Principles

Always without flavourings. Always without artificial additives. Always organic.

Exceptional origins. Exceptional tea varieties. Unfortunately tea does not grow in Germany, but these teas come from selected regions and – depending on the harvesting time – they may well vary in taste but certainly not in quality. You may therefore find that the colour of your brew is occasionally somewhat lighter, sometimes a little darker. This is an unorthodox feature which is due to the consistent regional and seasonal nature of our products. We guarantee: you will in any case enjoy the taste.

We work without flavourings and promote: „Free your taste“.

If you see “all-natural” added to the names of our teas, this is not just another standard advertising slogan. We really mean it.

Teas that we have developed for you without flavouring will be among those that you have previously encountered with flavourings. In our teas, we also avoid any natural flavouring or so-called “fruit oils” (which in fact are also nothing less than flavourings).

We don’t wish to condemn the addition of flavourings or oils amongst other producers but we consciously avoid adding them. Our all-natural and in some cases hand-picked teas and ingredients for our tea specialities come from controlled organic farming. We have been certified to this effect by the Gesellschaft für Ressourcenschutz, a control body in Göttingen with the code number DE-ÖKO-039.

What develops within our recipes is nothing more and nothing less than the natural taste of fruit, herbs and tea. You can taste it.

This restricts the number of varieties we can offer, because recipes like these are not suitable for every type of tea. Teas such as these taste less intensive than usual, but always very natural. And in our opinion – simply delicious!

Even we cannot imagine an Earl Grey tea without any natural or artificial flavourings. Certainly not at the present. We have therefore had to forgo (for the time being) the development of a top seller like, for example, Earl Grey tea. Yet, despite the somewhat vague legislation in Germany and the EU, a flavouring for us is – regardless of which type, whether natural or as a fruit oil or essence – an artificially produced “flavour enhancer”.

Consciously avoiding them means resorting to unusual, more complex recipes that consist exclusively of natural ingredients (stick lembke range – “All-natural Teas”). As a consequence, we forgo sales opportunities and take on the risk of working with recipes that have a less intensive flavour. The difference is comparable to that between a fizzy drink like orangeade and flavoured waters. To put it another way: our continued professional existence depends on this. We view the challenge of “swimming against the flow” and liberating the consumer from artificial additives at high personal risk as sustainability for the benefit of the connoisseur.

What is more, we find that our brand – exclusively without – tastes better. And our current range of 18 varieties is by no means complete.

We – “the brand exclusively without” – would be pleased.

We would like more transparency and fairness.

We are experts with decades of experience in the international tea business. We generally know the tea growers and their families at the source personally. Fair trade with them is not only something that we regard as self-evident but also a question of dealing with each other honestly. Wherever possible, we encourage socially balanced and ecological tea production on site.

What then links us to the key partners in the business is something that is becoming increasingly unfashionable these days: a long-lasting friendship and business relationship sealed by a handshake.

We remain true to our origins.

Directly below our office, in a new and modern tea production area, is where we produce our teas. And we also develop our innovative recipes and designs where the tea arrives straight from the gardens: in the port of Hamburg.

Made in Hamburg/Germany.

We work as sustainably and safely as possible.

We haven’t yet managed to do everything we had planned. As we also have to set our sights for sustainability in relation to the greatest possible product safety, not every solution that we might wish for is currently feasible. This is unfortunate!

But we are working on it. And we will not rest until every component of the packaging also meets our highest standards in terms of sustainability.

Hand-picked

Wherever you find “hand-picked” after the name of our varieties, we are referring to black, green or white teas that can be traced without doubt back to their source.

We obtain our teas from tea gardens which we know and where we are sure that the work is carried out in a proper and sustainable manner. The criterion for this may not only be the organic certification of the garden but also its entire dealings with the wonderful, sensual product of tea, and also its dealings with the local employees involved in the garden’s success. Generally, the operators or owners are known to us personally. They are aware that their names appear on our packages and are extremely interested in providing exceptionally good qualities under the name of stick lembke. Just as we are!

Consequently, depending on the harvesting conditions, every vintage will taste good but different – just like an outstanding wine. Nobody has dared to do this before and we hope you will reward us for this through your purchases.

Product safety has priority over sustainability

Safety first.

We have to protect our teas and their packaging against the possible migration of unwanted substances from the surroundings, even when we are discussing sustainability. This is why, in cases of doubt, we have to give higher priority to product safety than to sustainability. Consequently, it is possible to produce and process the inner foils and individual wrapping from regenerative raw materials or paper. However, the current state of the art does not provide the protective qualities that we consider important for dealing with tea.

Nevertheless, we are working on this and will not rest until we have found a 100% solution.

Organic quality as a matter of course

Nobody wants any residues in their tea.

The only consistent and the most reliable approach here is to use organic grades from dependable sources that we know personally.

“Organic” always means considering the nature of the packaging as well

Organic without including the packaging is not enough.

Sustainable raw materials and compostability of filter materials:
Today it is possible to use packaging and filter materials that are 1) safe, 2) consist of regenerative raw materials and 3) are at least biologically degradable or even compostable.

The special feature of our packaging:

  • Hand-stitched, transparent bags (stick lembke tea delights)
  • Hand-stitched thread without the customary capillary effect (stick lembke tea delights)
  • Filter material from regenerative raw materials, biologically degradable (stick lembke tea delights) or compostable (stick lembke pyramid bags)
  • Folding box and tray made from FSC Mix certified timber management
  • Pyramid bags with extra-long cotton thread to make sure the label stays outside
  • No cellophane around the packaging and no aluminium clip on the bag

Recycled materials:
We do not use any recycled materials in the packaging. We would like to have done so, but – to the best of our knowledge – the use of recycled materials in contact with food jeopardizes product safety.

Our promise to you: if we find a more sustainable solution that is technically feasible and above all safe, we will implement it.

Consignment by sea-going container has priority over road or air cargo

Unfortunately, tea does not grow in Germany! Our teas come from business partners that we know from all over the world, are developed and produced by us in Hamburg and are packed in Marrakesh – more attractively and safely than is possible anywhere else in the world. Wherever feasible, we carry out all of the transport stages contained in this chain by means of containers on ships, although this means of transport is certainly not the cleanest. In fact, one of the main factors responsible for fine particulate emissions in the city of Hamburg is the movement of ships in and out of the harbour. However, the picture is quite different if we look at the emissions per individual pack. Here transport by ship is advantageous for our consignments for reasons of size.

Only at the very end of the chain do our teas come to you by truck. At present we have no alternative to this. If at some time a meaningful alternative does arise, we will seize the opportunity.

Why don’t we work with the fair labels?

We have considered this question for a long time.

We appreciate the labels used in Germany and regard them as very helpful in heightening consumer awareness for sustainably manufactured tea products. The labels used in Germany and the EU, such as Fairtrade, Rainforest Alliance and UTZ, etc. enjoy our respect and our support for their ideals. However, we place even more trust in our stick & lembke system and our reliable partners:

Working conditions in our company and in our supply chain:

We know our suppliers and sources of supply. This is not something that can be taken for granted in this business. From our many years of experience, we know how they work and are familiar with the conditions on site. And not simply since our time with stick & lembke.

An above-average number of women work in our supply chain – in the tea garden or, for example, during the hibiscus harvest in Africa or in the packing plant of our friends in Marrakesh. There in Marrakesh, for instance, they undergo a two-year training period for packing tea.

As a consequence, we do not think in clichés, we are familiar with the real conditions on site and are pleased that this is the case.

Certification without labels:

During the coming year, we are aiming to obtain certification with Sedex (www.sedexglobal.com), the platform for consistently ethical dealings in the supply chain – and, incidentally, in our own offices as well.

In the case of doubt, we regard this as more credible than any label with which we might buy ourselves out of additional effort and all further responsibility.

We are from Hamburg and we are not a corporation

We work in Hamburg within view of the Köhlbrandbrücke suspension bridge in the harbour. That is where we develop our recipes and where we can view and inspect how they are produced if necessary. Our packaging material supplier, our logistics service and our forwarding agent are based in Lübeck, some 60 km away from Hamburg. For us, this means short routes to obtain the personal coordination that is frequently demanded by our joint project. Made in Northern Germany.

We have long since stopped wearing ties, because we occasionally like to jump on a bicycle to visit our partners. Of course we still have to fly or travel by car, but we can make sure that this doesn’t happen too often. Always under the proviso that it makes economic sense, there is a cluster of partners in our immediate neighbourhood who are able to support our efforts.

It is our project and that of all the partners involved – from the tea plantations at the outset, via our friends in Marrakesh, via you as our customers or consumers through to our partners, as mentioned above, in northern Germany. We are all working together on our project, to leave what is natural in its natural state. It may sound naive, but even this is something we see as sustainable.

Icon Versand Ab 40 € versandkostenfrei! Icon VersandFragen zur Bestellung? Tel.: 040 311 823 89 – 0 Zur Kasse Ihr Konto

Unsere Grundsätze

Immer ohne Aromen. Immer ohne künstliche Zusätze. Immer bio.

Außergewöhnliche Ursprünge. Ungewöhnliche Teesorten. Tee wächst leider nicht in Deutschland, aber diese Tees kommen aus ausgewählten Regionen und können – je nach Erntezeit – nicht in der Qualität, wohl aber im Geschmack, variieren. So kann es sein, dass Ihre Tassenfarbe unter Umständen mal etwas heller, mal etwas dunkler ausfällt. Eine unorthodoxe Besonderheit, die der konsequenten Regionalität und Saisonalität unserer Produkte geschuldet ist. Wir garantieren: Schmecken wird es Ihnen auf jeden Fall.

Wir arbeiten ohne Aromen und fordern: „Free your taste“.

Wenn Sie in unseren Teenamen den Zusatz „naturbelassen” erkennen, handelt es sich nicht um eine der üblichen Werbefloskeln. Wir meinen es ernst.

Tees, die Sie bislang nur mit Aroma kennen, haben wir für Sie ohne Aroma, auch ohne natürliches Aroma oder sogenannte “Fruchtöle” (das sind auch nur Aromen), entwickelt.

Wir möchten den Zusatz von Aromen oder Ölen bei anderen nicht verurteilen, doch verzichten wir bewusst auf deren Zugabe. Unsere naturbelassenen, zum Teil handverlesenen Tees und Zutaten für unsere Tee-Spezialitäten stammen aus kontrolliert biologischem Anbau. Dafür sind wir von der Gesellschaft für Ressourcenschutz in Göttingen unter der Kontrollnummer DE-ÖKO-039 zertifiziert worden.

In unseren Rezepturen entfaltet sich einfach nicht mehr und nicht weniger als der natürliche Geschmack von Früchten, Kräutern und Tee. Das schmeckt man.

Das schränkt unsere Sortenvielfalt ein, denn solche Rezepturen kann man nicht mit jeder Sorte umsetzen. Solche Tees schmecken weniger intensiv als gewöhnlich, aber immer sehr natürlich. Und wir meinen: einfach lecker!

Einen Earl-Grey-Tee können auch wir uns nicht ohne natürliche oder künstliche Aromen vorstellen. Jedenfalls heute noch nicht. Auf das Entwickeln eines Top-Sellers wie z.B. Earl-Grey-Tee mussten wir daher (vorerst) verzichten. Doch abseits von der in Deutschland und der EU eher lückenhaften Gesetzgebung ist ein Aroma für uns – gleich welcher Art, ob natürlich oder als Frucht-Öl oder Essenz – ein künstlich hergestellter “Geschmacksverstärker”.

Darauf bewusst zu verzichten, heißt, auf ungewöhnliche, aufwändigere Rezepturen zurückzugreifen, die ausschließlich aus natürlichen Zutaten bestehen (stick lembke Sortiment – “Naturbelassene Tees”). Damit verzichten wir auf Umsatzmöglichkeiten und nehmen das Risiko auf uns, mit weniger intensiv schmeckenden Rezepturen zu arbeiten. Das ist ein Unterschied wie Fanta Brause zu „Near Water“. Anders formuliert: Daran hängt unsere weitere berufliche Existenz. Die Herausforderung, „gegen den Strom zu schwimmen“ und den Geschmack des Verbrauchers unter hohem persönlichen Risiko von künstlichen Zusätzen zu befreien, betrachten wir als Nachhaltigkeit im Sinne des Konsumenten.

Darüber hinaus schmeckt es uns mitohne besser.

Wir möchten mehr Transparenz und Fairness.

Wir sind Experten mit einer jahrzehntelangen Erfahrung im internationalen Teegeschäft. Die Teebauern und deren Familien im Ursprung kennen wir in der Regel persönlich. Der faire Handel mit ihnen ist für uns nicht nur selbstverständlich, sondern eine Frage des aufrichtigen Umgangs miteinander. Wo immer möglich, fördern wir eine sozial ausgewogene und ökologische Teeproduktion vor Ort.

Mit den wichtigen Partnern der Branche verbindet uns das, was heutzutage zunehmend aus der Mode kommt: eine langjährige Freundschaft und Geschäft per Handschlag.

Wir bleiben unserer Herkunft verbunden.

Unsere Teekreationen entstehen direkt unter unserem Büro in einer neuen und modernen Teemanufaktur. Auch unsere innovativen Rezepturen und Designs entwickeln wir dort, wo der Tee aus den Gärten ankommt: im Hafen von Hamburg.

Made in Hamburg/Germany.

Wir arbeiten so nachhaltig und sicher wie möglich.

Wir haben noch nicht alles geschafft, was wir uns vorgenommen haben. Da wir unsere Nachhaltigkeit immer auch in Relation zu größtmöglicher Produktsicherheit setzen müssen, ist uns zur Zeit noch nicht jede wünschenswerte Lösung möglich. Leider!

Doch wir arbeiten daran. Und wir werden nicht ruhen, bis jede Verpackungskomponente auch in puncto Nachhaltigkeit unseren höchsten Ansprüchen genügt.

Handverlesen

Wo immer Sie bei unseren Sorten den Namenszusatz „handverlesen” finden, sprechen wir von Schwarzen, Grünen oder Weißen Tees, deren Herkunft Sie unzweifelhaft bis in den Ursprung zurückverfolgen können.

Wir beziehen unsere Tees aus Teegärten, die uns bekannt sind und von denen wir wissen, dass dort ordentlich und nachhaltig gearbeitet wird. Das Kriterium dafür kann nicht nur die dort vorhandene Bio-Zertifizierung sein, sondern der gesamte Umgang mit dem schönen, sinnlichen Produkt Tee, aber auch der Umgang mit den dort am Erfolg des Gartens beteiligten Mitarbeitern. Die Betreiber oder Eigentümer sind uns in der Regel persönlich bekannt. Sie wissen, dass sie auf unseren Packungen namentlich erscheinen und haben ein großes Interesse daran, Ihnen unter dem Namen stick lembke außergewöhnlich gute Qualitäten zur Verfügung zu stellen. Genau wie wir!

In der Folge wird jeder Jahrgang je nach Erntebedingungen unterschiedlich gut schmecken – genau wie ein hervorragender Wein. Das hat sich noch niemand getraut und wir hoffen, Sie honorieren uns dies, indem Sie uns mit Ihrem Einkauf unterstützen.

Produktsicherheit geht vor Nachhaltigkeit

Safety first.

Wir müssen unsere Tees und deren Verpackungen vor einer möglichen Migration von unerwünschten Stoffen aus der Umgebung schützen, auch dann, wenn wir von Nachhaltigkeit sprechen. Deswegen müssen wir im Zweifel Produktsicherheit höher ansiedeln als Nachhaltigkeit. So ist es möglich, Innenfolien bzw. Umbeutel aus nachwachsenden Rohstoffen oder Papier herzustellen und zu verarbeiten. Diese hätten nach gegenwärtigem Stand der Technik jedoch nicht die Schutzeigenschaften, die wir für den Umgang mit Tee für wichtig halten.

Doch wir arbeiten daran und werden nicht ruhen, bis wir eine 100%-ige Lösung gefunden haben.

Bio ist eine Selbstverständlichkeit

Niemand möchte evtl. vorhandene Rückstände in seinen Tees.

Die einzig konsequente und zuverlässigste Antwort darauf ist der Einsatz von Bio-Qualitäten aus uns persönlich bekannten und zuverlässigen Quellen.

Bio muss immer auch die Beschaffenheit der Verpackung berücksichtigen

Bio ohne das Einbeziehen der Verpackung genügt nicht.

Nachwachsende Rohstoffe und Kompostierbarkeit von Filtermaterialien:
Es ist heute möglich, Verpackungen und Filtermaterialien zu verwenden, die 1) sicher sind, 2) aus nachwachsenden Rohstoffen bestehen und 3) mindestens biologisch abbaubar oder gar kompostierbar sind.

Das Besondere an unseren Verpackungen:

  • Handgenähte, transparente Beutel (stick lembke-Teeschönheiten)
  • Handgenähter Faden ohne den sonst üblichen Kapillareffekt (stick lembke-Teeschönheiten)
  • Filtermaterial aus nachwachsenden Rohstoffen, biologisch abbaubar (stick lembke-Teeschönheiten) oder kompostierbar (stick lembke Pyramidenbeutel)
  • Faltschachtel und Tray aus FSC-Mix-zertifizierter Holzwirtschaft
  • Pyramidenbeutel mit extra langem Baumwollfaden, damit das Etikett draußen bleibt
  • Kein Cellophan um die Verpackung herum und kein Alu-Clip am Beutel

Recycling-Material:
Wir setzen bei der Verpackung keine Recycling-Materialien ein. Hätten wir gern so gemacht, doch gefährdet der Einsatz von Recycling-Material im Kontakt mit Lebensmitteln nach unserem Wissenstand die Produktsicherheit.

Unser Versprechen an Sie: Wenn wir etwas Nachhaltigeres finden, etwas, das technisch machbar, vor allem aber sicher ist, werden wir es umsetzen.

Verladung per Container zur See geht vor LKW-Fracht oder Luftfracht

Tee wächst leider nicht in Deutschland! Unsere Tees kommen von uns bekannten Geschäftspartnern aus der ganzen Welt, werden von uns in Hamburg entwickelt und produziert und so schön und sicher gepackt – wie nirgendwo sonst möglich – in Marrakesch. Alle in dieser Kette enthaltenen Transporte wickeln wir nach Möglichkeit per Container auf Schiffen ab, obwohl dieses Transportmittel sicher nicht das sauberste Verkehrsmittel ist. So ist einer der Hauptverantwortlichen für Feinstaubemissionen in der Stadt Hamburg der im Hamburger Hafen ein- und auslaufende Schiffsverkehr. Ganz anders jedoch sieht es aus, wenn wir uns die Emissionen pro Verkaufsverpackung ansehen. Hier ist der Transport per Schiff, auf Grund seiner Größe, für unsere Verladungen von Vorteil.

Ganz zum Schluss kommen unsere Tees dann mit dem LKW zu Ihnen. Dafür haben wir zur Zeit keine Alternative. Wenn es irgendwann eine sinnvolle Alternative gibt, werden wir mit ihr arbeiten.

Warum arbeiten wir nicht mit fairen Siegeln?

An dieser Frage haben wir lang gearbeitet.

Wir schätzen alle in Deutschland verwendeten Siegel und halten diese für sehr hilfreich, um das Bewusstsein des Verbrauchers für nachhaltig hergestellte Teeprodukte zu schärfen. Die in Deutschland und der EU eingesetzten Siegel, wie Fairtrade, Rainforest Alliance und UTZ usw. genießen unseren Respekt und haben unsere ideelle Unterstützung. Noch mehr vertrauen wir allerdings auf unser stick & lembke-System und unsere zuverlässigen Partner:

Arbeitsbedingungen bei uns und in unserer Lieferkette:

Wir kennen unsere Lieferanten und Bezugsquellen. Das ist in diesem Geschäft übrigens keine Selbstverständlichkeit. Aus langjähriger Erfahrung wissen wir, wie diese arbeiten und kennen die Verhältnisse vor Ort. Und dies nicht erst seit unserer Zeit bei stick & lembke.

In unserer Lieferkette arbeiten überdurchschnittlich viele Frauen – im Teegarten oder z. B. bei der Hibiskusernte in Afrika oder in der Packerei unserer Freunde in Marrakesch. Diese werden zum Beispiel für das Teepacken in Marrakesch zwei Jahre lang ausgebildet. Dabei denken wir nicht in Klischees, wir kennen nur die Realitäten vor Ort und sind froh darüber, dass es so ist.

Zertifizierung ohne Siegel:

Im Jahr 2017 sind wir der Transparenz-Plattform Sedex (Suppliers Ethical Data Exchange), beigetreten und haben uns im Juli durch den TÜV Rheinland auditieren lassen. Die 2001, in London gegründete non-profit Organisation Sedex ermöglicht es Unternehmen sich mit Kunden, Partnern und Lieferanten zu verknüpfen und firmeninterne Informationen zu Arbeitsstrukturen und Prozessabläufen auszutauschen. Mit der Mitgliedschaft verfolgen wir das Ziel unsere gesamte Lieferkette bis hin zu unseren Teepflückern transparent abbilden zu können und dadurch faire und nachhaltige Produktionswege zu schaffen.

Das halten wir im Zweifelsfall für glaubwürdiger als jedes Siegel, mit dem wir uns auf der Verpackung von allen weiteren Mühen und aller weiteren Verantwortung freikaufen könnten.

Wir sind Hamburger und wir sind kein Konzern

Wir arbeiten in Hamburg in Sichtweite der Köhlbrandbrücke. Dort entwickeln wir unsere Rezepturen, deren Produktion wir direkt unter uns zuschauen und ggf. kontrollieren können. Unser Verpackungsmaterialienlieferant, unser Logistiker und unser Spediteur sitzen in Lübeck, ca. 60 km von Hamburg entfernt. Das bedeutet für uns kurze Wege bei der immer wieder notwendigen persönlichen Abstimmung im Rahmen unseres gemeinsamen Projektes. Made in Northern-Germany.

Eine Krawatte tragen wir dabei schon lang nicht mehr, denn unsere Partner besuchen wir gern auch einmal mit unseren Fahrrädern. Natürlich müssen wir immer noch fliegen oder uns mit dem Auto bewegen, doch wir können darauf achten, dass dies nicht zu häufig geschieht. Immer unter der Voraussetzung, dass es wirtschaftlich sinnvoll ist, kann ein Cluster von Partnern in unserer unmittelbaren Nähe unsere Bemühungen unterstützen.

Es ist unser Projekt, das Projekt aller daran beteiligten Partner – von den Teeplantagen im Ursprung, über unsere Freunde in Marrakesch, über Sie als unseren Kunden oder Verbraucher bis hin zu unseren oben genannten Partnern in Norddeutschland. Wir alle arbeiten zusammen an unserem Projekt, Natürliches natürlich zu belassen. Es mag naiv klingen, doch auch das halten wir für nachhaltig.